The New Member Blocking Feature in LinkedIn, to Block Annoying Contacts

Trending 23 Feb , 2014  


imgresFinally we have Member Blocking Feature in LinkedIn, LinkedIn has at last added a long-requested feature with the introduction of member blocking. This adds a new privacy control to the service, which lets you restrict access to your profile, direct interactions, and network activity from any other logged-in member who you don’t want to interact with on LinkedIn.

The company says that it introduced the option not only because of user feedback, but also because “it was the right thing to do.”

In this way, LinkedIn just answered your requests with a new blocking feature. The professional networking site says that it responded to frequent user feedback as well as growing privacy concerns – what it says — we also knew it was the right thing to do.


The site recommends that you enable anonymous profile viewing before you block someone. It ensures that your name does not appear on the blocked person’s “Who’s Viewed Your Profile” section. To block another member, you have to go to their profile page and choose the Block or Report option. It is available from the drop-down box next to the “Send InMail” button on targetted member’s profile.  In short, it is mutual in its disconnecting effects.

So just like facebook , you will not be able to contact or view the other’s profile. All endorsements and recommendations will be removed from your profile. Also, neither person’s details will appear as suggestions in the “People You May Know” or “People also Viewed” sections on LinkedIn.

, ,